Singer Tamta, has officially recorded the Cypriot entry for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest at studios in Stockholm, Sweden.

She will sing ‘Replay‘, described as an up-tempo pop “banger”, at the 64th annual contest in Tel Aviv this May.

Georgian-Greek singer, Tamta Goduadze, 38, was announced as CyBC’s artist to represent Cyprus last December, officially instigating the Cypriot ‘well-drilled’, organised Eurovision machine quite early this year.

The song’s composer Alex Papaconstantinou AKA Alex P, was the man behind Eleni Foureira’s ‘Fuego’ – last year’s impressive runners-up position in the competition.

He has been assisted by Sweden-based songwriters Teddy Sky, Viktor Svensson, Kristoffer “Bonn” Fogelmark and Albin Nedler.

The songwriters have penned hits for some of the biggest-named artists in music such as One Direction, Mark Anthony, Demi Lovato, Avicii, MO, 5SOS, Jennifer Lopez, Nicki Minaj, Arash and more.

Tamta told Cypriot TV, (translated) “I’m going to (sic.Tel Aviv) without forecasting what position Cyprus will achieve. I hope that what we will present on stage will make you proud. I’d like to thank everybody for their support and hope that you stand by me on this wonderful Eurovision journey.”

Tamta revealed that she felt that the tune complimented her signature pop-style credentials and she was impressed with the creative team behind the track, which convinced her to fly the Cypriot flag in the competition.

She is soon to start filming the official music video to the Eurovision track this month.

The release date for the Cypriot tune is confirmed for March at the earliest, which enhances the fans’ excitement even more.

Cyprus competes in the Eurovision first Semi-Final on Tuesday 14th May at 8 pm GMT.

For all of your Eurovision news on Cyprus, make sure you regularly check back to lgr.co.uk and tune in to hear “Replay” on LGR in the coming weeks.

London Greek Radio wish Tamta and the Cypriot delegation the very best of luck in the competition.

Cyprus’ Eurovision Entry for 2019 Confirmed (click here for more Eurovision news) 

Replay’ team, from left to right, Alex Papaconstantinou, Viktor Svensson, Teddy Sky, Tamta, Kristoffer “Bonn” Fogelmark, Albin Nedler (picture)

Article written by Tony Neophytou