British-Cypriot Bambos Charalambous wins Enfield Southgate constituency.

Labour’s Bambos Charalambous has been re-elected with 48.5 per cent of the vote and a majority of 4,450.

Labour took this seat from the Conservatives in 2015. Before that the Tories held the seat since 1950 with (the exception, 1997 and 2001 elections, with Stephen Twigg wins for the Labour party and elected-government).

In 2017 Charalambous won 51.7 per cent of the vote with a majority of 4,355 so results this year are very similar to before.

Running against Mr Charalambous and the closest competitor is David Burrowes, who was MP for the constituency for 12 years until 2017.

Burrowes got 39.1 per cent of the vote which accounted for 18,473 votes.

In the 2016 EU Referendum the constituency was fiercely Remain with 62.1 per cent of the electorate voting to remain in the European Union.

The constituency has an interesting make up with the southern parts being fairly urban and the northern parts semi-rural.

Enfield Southgate results:

2017 result: Bambos Charalambous, Labour

Luke Balnave, Green, 1,042
David Burrowes, Conservative, 18,473
Bambos Charalambous, Labour, 22,923
Parag Shah, The Brexit Party, 494
Rob Wilson, Liberal Democrat, 4,344

Photo: Bambos Charalambous Twitter

Article written by London Greek Radio